



Section 14

Central Asia Water Awards

Awards on the Occasion of the 25th Anniversary of ICWC

On the occasion of the 25th anniversary of ICWC in Central Asia, and in line with the decision of the 72nd ICWC meeting (24.11.2017), the title "Honorary member of ICWC" was awarded to:

- 1) Kokhir Rasulzoda, Prime-Minister of the Republic of Tajikistan;
- 2) Islam Abishev, Chairman of the Committee for Water Resources, Republic of Kazakhstan;
- 3) Shavkat Khamraev, Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Water Resources, Republic of Uzbekistan;
- 4) Khamid Khasanzoda, Deputy Director of the Agency for Land Reclamation and Irrigation, Republic of Tajikistan;
- 5) Begench Mommadov, Head of Water Use Department, Ministry of Agriculture and Water Resources, Turkmenistan;
- 6) Ismat Eshmirzoev, former Minister of Land Reclamation and Water Resources, Republic of Tajikistan.

Additionally, during the Central Asian International Scientific and Practical Conference "The 25 years of Water Cooperation in Central Asia: Lessons Learnt and Future Outlook" (23-24 November, Tashkent), the awards were presented for diligent work and strong contribution to international and regional water cooperation to specialists of country water sectors in the Aral Sea basin. More than 100 people were awarded in total.¹⁴³

Breastplate "For contribution to saving the Aral Sea"

In 2017, the Executive Directorate of IFAS (ED IFAS) in Kazakhstan awarded honorary breastplates to 37 prominent scientists and experts, who made significant contribution to the development of water sector and international cooperation. The award ceremony took place during the first International Aral Forum for Sustainable Development (30-31 May, Kyzylorda) and the International Scientific and Practical Conference "Transboundary Cooperation in Central Asia – Security, Stability, and Prosperity of the Region" (7 September, Almaty).

List of awardees:

- Uzakbay Karamanuly Karamanov former Executive Director of IFAS and Premier Minister of Kazakhstan
- 2. Krymbek Yeleuuly Kusherbaev Akim (mayor) of the Kyzylorda province, Republic of Kazakhstan
- 3. Berdibek Mashbekuly Saparbaev former Akim of the Kyzylorda province
- 4. Kudaybergen Sarjanov former Minister of Fishery of Kazakh Soviet Socialistic Republic
- 5. Nariman Kypshakbayuly Kipshakbaev former Minister of Water Resources and Land Reclamation of the Republic of Kazakhstan
- 6. Almabek Nurushuly Nurushev former Director of IFAS
- 7. Aytbay Kusherbaev former Akim of the Aral district
- 8. Abdimanap Kutjanov Head of Provincial Water Resources Administration, honored worker of Kazakhstan
- 9. Saylaubay Zhubatyrov Journalist, publicist-environmentalist, member of the Union of the writers of Kazakhstan

¹⁴³ See details on: http://sic.icwc-aral.uz/releases/rus/321.htm

- 10. Viktor Stepanovich Morozov Veteran of water sector, Kazakhstan
- 11. Vitaliy Mironovich Shek Veteran of water sector, Kazakhstan
- 12. Anatoliy Dmitrievich Ryabtsev former Chairman of the Committee for Water Resources of the Republic of Kazakhstan, veteran of water sector
- 13. Serikbay Smayyluly Smayylov Veteran of water sector
- 14. Nirio Isida honorary professor of the Kiyoto University
- 15. Nikolay Vasilyevich Aladin Doctor of biological sciences, professor, head of the Hydrobilogy Laboratory, Zoological Institute, Russian Academy of Sciences
- 16. Philip Micklin professor of the Western Michigan University
- 17. Medet Ospanuly Ospanov former Director of ED IFAS in Kazakhstan (2009-2016)
- 18. Zauresh Zhansultankyzy Alimbetova Director of the "Barsakelmes" nature reserve
- 19. Dauletyar Aymagambetuly Bayalimov EC IFAS member representative of Kazakhstan, Veteran of IFAS
- 20. Tulegen Tajibayuly Sarsembekov Veteran of water sector, former Chairman of the Committee for Water Resources of Kazakhstan
- 21. Adilkhan Karlykhanuly Karlykhanov Head of the Aralo-Syr Darya Basin inspection
- 22. Seylbek Shaukhamanuly Shaukhamanov former Akim of the Kyzylorda province, prominent statesman and politician
- 23. Sagit Rakhmatullauly Ibatullim former Chairman of EC IFAS (2008-2013)
- 24. Amirkhan Kadyrbekuly Kenshimov Veteran of water sector, head of Water Resource Department, ED IFAS in Kazakhstan
- 25. Tlektes Isabayuly Espolov Rector of KazNAU, D.Eng.Sc, professor
- 26. Viktor Abramovich Dukhovniy SIC ICWC Director
- 27. Boriy Botirovich Alikhanov Deputy Speaker Leader of the Deputy Group of Eco-movement, Chairman of the Committee on the issues of Ecology and Environment Protection of the Legislative Chamber
- 28. Dosjan Abdreshovich Nurbatyrov Veteran of IFAS, head of Department of Socio-economic Issues, ED IFAS in Kazakhstan
- 29. Abdijamil Karimuly Nurpeisov People's Writer of Kazakhstan, winner of the State Award of USSR
- 30. Lidiya Yakovlevna Kurochkina Doctor of biological sciences, professor, biobotanistdesertologist
- 31. Aytkul Baygazievna Samakova Director, member of Board of Directors, Joint Stock Company "Export Insurance Company "KazakhExport"
- 32. Kuanyshkali Rakhmanberdievich Shapshanov Veteran of labor
- 33. Marat Erdauletovich Kurmanbaev Head of the Environment Department in the Kyzylorda province
- 34. Bigali Abdikeruly Katupov Honorary Citizen of the Aral district, former akim of the Aral district (1992-1996)
- 35. Najmadin Turkbenuly Musabaev former Akim of the Aral district (2004-2013)

- 36. Akhmedulla Umbetov Veteran of labor
- 37. Slamjan Eskhozovich Isabekov Head of Kyzylorda branch of ED IFAS in Kazakhstan

Source: Executive Directorate of IFAS in Kazakhstan

Awards to employees of the water sector in Kyrgyzstan

According to the Resolution of the President of the Kyrgyz Republic of **14 November 2017** #256, the Director General of the Department of Water Resources and Land Reclamation (DWRLR) Mr. Tashtanaliev Kokumbek Zhumagulovich was awarded with the Honorary Order "Dank" (Order of Glory) for significant contribution to the socio-economic development of the country and strengthening of economy of the Kyrgyz Republic.¹⁴⁴

A range of employees of DWRLR was also awarded with:

- Certificate of Merit of the Government of the Kyrgyz Republic
- Certificate of Merit of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food Industry and Land Reclamation of the Kyrgyz Republic
- Breastplate "Excellence in Agriculture". 145

Awards to employees of the water sector in Uzbekistan

According to the Resolution of the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan "On awarding a group of compatriots on the occasion of the Day of Agricultural Workers for their significant contribution to the sector" of **7 December 2017**, honorary titles, orders and medals were awarded for years of dedicated service in agriculture, weighty contribution to boosting crop production, improving well-being of our people, strengthening economy and export potential, achieving food security, and successful implementation of reforms and state programs in the agrarian sector:

Title "Honored Irrigator of the Republic of Uzbekistan"

Shavkat Rakhimovich Khamraev – Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Water Resources

Botir Rakhimov – Head of Basin Irrigation System Administration Amu-Kashladaryo, Kashkadarya province

Order "Fidokorona khizmatlar uchun" ("For selfless service")

Umid Valievich Abdullaev – Technical Director of the UzGIP Liability Limited Company

Order "Mekhnat shukhrati" ("Labor Glory")

Marat Fakhrievich Nadjimov – Director General of the Uzsuvloyikha Joint-stock company

Bakhodir Kuchkarovich Ruziboev – Director of the UzGIP Liability Limited Company

and others (168 people in total).146

 $[\]frac{144}{\text{http://water.kg/index.php/ru/item/510-pozdravlyaem-generalnogo-direktora-dvkhim-s-poluchenie-ordena-dank}}{\text{http://water.kg/index.php/ru/item/510-pozdravlyaem-generalnogo-direktora-dvkhim-s-poluchenie-ordena-dank}}$

Details: http://water.kg/index.php/ru/item/513-spisok-poluchivshikh-nagrady

¹⁴⁶ Details: http://uza.uz/ru/documents/o-nagrazhdenii-v-svyazi-s-dnem-rabotnikov-selskogo-khozyayst-09-12-2017

