Protocol to the agreement on the coorperation for the Sustainable Development of the Mekong River Basin for the establishment and commencement of the Mekong River Commission

The Governments of the Kingdom of Cambodia, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Kingdom of Thailand, and Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, have signed on this day the AGREEMENT ON THE COOPERATION FOR THE SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT OF THE MEKONG RIVER BASIN.

Said AGREEMENT provides for in Chapter IV the establishment of the Mekong River Commission as the institutional framework through which the AGREEMENT will be implemented.

BY THIS PROTOCOL, the signatory parties to the AGREEMENT do hereby declare the establishment and commencement of the MEKONG RIVER COMMISSION, consisting of three permanent bodies, the COUNCIL, JOINT, COMMITTEE and SECRETARIAT, effective on this date with the full authority and responsibility set forth under the AGREEMENT.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned, duly authorized by their respective governments have signed this Protocol.

DONE on 5 April 1995 at Chiang Rai, Thailand.

For The Kingdom of Cambodia:

Ing Kieth

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Transport

For The Lao People's Democratic Republic:

Somsavat Lengsavad

Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Kingdom of Thailand:

1Crasac Changerory

Krasae Chanawongse // Minister of Foreign Affairs