Agreement Concerning the Protection of the Waters of the Mediterranean Shores

The Government of the French Republic, the Government of the Italian Republic and the Government of His Serene Highness the Sovereign Prince of Monaco. anxious to preserve the quality of the waters of the Mediterranean shores, to prevent their pollution as far as possible and to improve their current state,

desiring to reinforce the local collaboration established in this area among the authorities of the three Governments,

Have agreed as follows:

Article 1

The three Governments shall establish an International Commission, hereinafter referred to as "the Commission", to achieve the objectives of this Agreement.

Article 2

The aim of the Commission is to establish closer collaboration between the competent services of the three Governments in order to combat pollution of the waters of the territorial sea and the internal waters of the continental coastline included between, to the west, longitude 6 deg 7 min East and, to the east, longitude 9 deg 8 min East.

The Commission may, if necessary, and in accordance with the procedure provided for in article 8, extend the aforesaid geographical limits, unless there is an objection from one of the Governments within three months of the adoption of the new limits.

Article 3

In order to discharge its functions, under this Agreement, the Commission shall:

- (a) Examine any problem of common interest related to water pollution;
- (b) Stimulate collaboration among the competent administrative services aimed at:

a survey of polluted areas;

mutual and reciprocal information on development projects that may create a serious risk of pollution,

an economic study of the infrastructure and equipment necessary to combat water pollution;

- (c) Promote and stimulate, as appropriate, studies and research and information exchanges and expert meetings within the framework of scientific cooperation, the subject-matter of which shall be determined by the Commission, taking into account existing local, national or international work and material resources;
- (d) Propose to the three Governments any measure to protect the waters, including through special agreements.

Article 4

The Commission shall be composed of delegations of the three Governments. Each Government shall nominate a maximum of seven delegates, including one head of delegation. Each delegation may call upon experts to examine particular questions.

Article 5

The Commission shall be supported by a Technical Committee composed of water protection experts. Each Government shall nominate technical experts. The Commission may also request that other working groups should be constituted to study specific issues.

Article 6

The Presidency of the Commission shall be given for a period of two years to the head of each delegation in turn in the order in which the Governments appear in the Preamble.

However, for the first period, the head of the Monegasque delegation shall be the President.

Article 7

Ordinary sessions of the Commission shall be held at least once a year upon convocation by the President. Extraordinary sessions shall be convened by the President, on the request of one delegation. The President shall propose the agenda. Each delegation may have included in the agenda items that it wishes to be considered. The draft agenda shall be submitted to delegations two months before the date of the meeting.

Article 8

Each delegation shall have one vote.

Decisions shall be taken unanimously.

Article 9

The Commission shall establish the relations that it deems necessary with all international bodies concerned with water pollution.

Article 10

The Commission shall provide the three Governments annually with an activity report containing, in particular, the results of the studies and research that it initiates, together with its proposals .

Article 11

Each Government shall bear the costs of its participation in the Commission, the Technical Committee and any working groups, as well as the costs of research undertaken in its territory.

Common expenses shall be divided among the three Governments according to arrangements proposed by the Commission and laid down by those Governments. Such a procedure shall also apply where the Commission decides unanimously on special research.

Article 12

The Commission shall adopt its rules of procedure.

Article 13

The Secretariat of the Commission shall be provided by the Scientific Centre of Monaco.

Article 14

The working languages of the Commission shall be French and Italian.

Article 15

Each signatory Government shall notify the Government of the Principality of Monaco of the completion by it of the constitutional procedures required for the entry into force of the present Agreement; the Government of the Principality of Monaco shall immediately confirm the date of receipt of notification and shall inform the other signatory Governments.

The Agreement shall enter into force on the first day of the second month after the receipt of the final notification.

After the expiry of three years from the date of entry into force, the present Agreement may be denounced at any time. Such denunciation shall take effect three months after it is notified to the depositary Government, which shall immediately inform the other signatory Governments.

The original of the present Agreement, of which the French and Italian texts are equally authentic, shall be deposited in the archives of the Government of His Most Serene Highness the Sovereign Prince of Monaco, which shall transmit a certified true copy to each of the signatory Governments.

Done at Monaco, this tenth day of May one thousand nine hundred and seventy six.